Make: Basil Pesto, I made my own, you can too

just some basil pesto i whipped up

Picture of the basil pesto I whipped up, I didn’t have any fancy bowls, so I just chucked it in plastic container. All class all the way.

I’m sort of, maybe addicted to all sorts of dips and spreads.  I think its totally acceptable to eat a dip as a meal.  So it was only a matter of time before I tried to make my own basil pesto.  After I made it, I realised that I should have made it sooner, for the following reasons:

1. It’s super easy to make and takes likes then 5 minutes.

2. It’s so satisfying making it yourself.

There are so many recipes out there, but if you stumbled across mine, hurrah!

Good old fashion pesto – your own way

3-4 cups of fresh basil – if for some reason you can’t get your hands on that much basil (or any), add some spinach or coriander or parsley or mint, a mixed herb spread would be delicious.

1/2 cup nuts, walnuts, cashews, pine nuts, why not try any other nut, if it’s your favourite

2-3 cloves of garlic, chopped, more or less if you like

some sea salt

1-2 teaspoons of lemon juice, but really just do it, to your taste

1/3 cup of oil, your choice, i like a good olive oil and again add more or less depending on the texture you’re going for

Decide what kind of texture you want your pesto to be, it’ll be in your food processor so, shorter time means a grainier pesto, longer means a pureed pesto.  You choose.

Roast your nuts on the stove in a pan, it makes them taste nicer, but if you’re feeling lazy, then skip this step.

Chuck your (roasted) nuts, basil and garlic in a food processor. crack some salt on it. Turn it on and slowly add your oil. Add your lemon juice, give it a whirl in your food processor again, and your done.

I checked on mine a few times, to scrape down the sides and taste it.  Add more of anything that suits your taste buds.

If you don’t know how to enjoy pesto, here are a few ideas:

  • spread it on a sandwich or filled roll
  • stir it through pasta or roast veggies or a salad
  • spread it on crackers and top with cheese or tomatoes
  • use it as a sauce base for a pizza
  • and my fave is to make a grilled cheese sandwich with pesto

It’s the start of summer here in the southern hemisphere and I was lucky enough to buy some fresh basil at the farmer’s market. Stoked I tried to make my own, I’ll definitely do it again.

7 thoughts on “Make: Basil Pesto, I made my own, you can too

  1. Pingback: Pesto uses in Canapés & Small Plate Appetizers – By Reader Request! | Mmm, Taste This!

  2. Pingback: Carrot Beet Angel Hair Pasta with Spicy Pine Nut and Pistachio Pesto (recipe courtesy to raw pleasure) | healthnutmumblog

  3. Pingback: Super easy pesto salmon with couscous, asparagus and garlic sour cream | HolyTastebuds !

  4. Pingback: Basil-Pest-Mozzarella Fried Egg Sandwich {That’s a mouthful!} | VegeKick

  5. Pingback: Pester me for Pesto | VegeThoughts

Leave a Reply

