birthday

it was yesterday.

I turned an age that felt like a shoulder shrug to me, some years feel more exciting than others. My sister asked me how I felt about it and that was how I described it.  I really liked her response.  She basically told me the focus isn’t on the number, however it’s a day to remember to enjoy and feel happy about.

It got me thinking, because I think she thought I was bummed about my birthday, and I think she thought I was shoulder shrugging my birthday, but that was so not the case.

We had a good chat about it and I think she understood what I meant.  That the day itself would still be an awesome day but the age I turned was a shoulder shrug.

I didn’t realise I had been creating my own traditions (all of two but still, they count) surrounding my birthday until this year, and I thought I would share what they are.

1. More important than New Year’s, my birthday is where I start to benchmark my year from.  Like others, I reflect on the year that’s passed, but I start to think about what I want to achieve in the year ahead.  I start setting out what it is that I want to accomplish.

2. I like to try out new things on my birthday.  It doesn’t matter what it is, it could be as simple as taking a different route from point A to B, trying a food I haven’t tried before, exploring somewhere I haven’t been or try an activity that I’ve not tried before.  The point is there needs to be something new.

3. I like to think that  how you spend your birthday is a reflection of how you will spend the year. Be dramatic about it.. it’ll be a dramatic year; fill it with laughter, and you’ll probably have a super fun-filled year.  It’s completely unscientific, however its just a bit of birthday fun.

 

hb

Leave a Reply

